Thick Clouds and Heavy Mists

on

dsc_0263

While in Wyoming, my dad and I got to hike along many beautiful trails, but our favorite hike was the assent to Medicine Bow Peak, the highest peak in the Snowy Range. I had climbed this peak six years ago, and so I was excited to be able to experience the sights at an older age. I knew at 12,014 feet, the view from the top was absolutely stunning.  As for my dad, he has been summiting this peak since he was a child and has been up at least nine times. So you can imagine our discouragement when we arrived to the trail head and saw the mountains in this state of weather…

dsc_0217

As we climbed higher and higher, all vision of the trail was lost behind us, and instead we could see only thick clouds of fog. While at first disappointed, I soon became fascinated by the mist and how it could ebb and flow so quickly. It added much more adventure to our climb.

dsc_0231

However this appreciation quickly turned when we reached the peak and could see absolutely nothing below. Talk about anti-climatic! Even though it looked as if the clouds weren’t going anywhere, my dad and I decided to wait around a little bit anyway. Only a  minutes after this decision, God suddenly pulled back every little bit of the fog to display His amazing creation just for us!

dsc_0254

Isaiah 44:22 says,

“I have wiped out your transgressions like a thick cloud

And your sins like a heavy mist

Return to Me, for I have redeemed you.”

DSC_0296.JPG

My sins and transgressions are many. I choose to stumble along in temporary beauty trying to reach worldly successes, or summits, when true success is only made stunning and worthwhile in the light of God’s glory and design.

When Jesus came and died on the cross for us, He swept all our clouds and fog and mist away, giving us clarity, hope, fullness.

Praise God!

DSC_0262.JPG

Leave a comment